Golden Ballot Hall of Fame 2015

The IBWAA Hall of Fame ballot is due by the end of the year, and I will post my ballot on New Years, but I thought I’d give you a preview of my thinking by releasing my golden ballot.

Those of you familiar with my site already know the premise here. but if you’re new, I’ll explain. A few years back I offered a different method of selection for the Hall. Instead of 10 vote you get up to 15 (which the IBWAA has since adopted). The Hall is divided into tiers, the Golden Tier (for first ballot hall of famers), the  Silver Tier (for normally elected players) and the Bronze Tier (for special elections, aka Veterans, Negro League, etc.).

Voters could vote for up to three gold players (who must be first ballot players), then up to 10 silver players, then as many bronze players as votes remain up to 15. A sample ballot could be 3 gold, 10 silver 2 bronze, or 2 gold, 8 silver, and five bronze, or even 1 gold, 5 silver and 2 bronze. (IBWAA has NOT adopted this)

So each of the past three years I have cast a golden ballot for a tiered Hall of Fame. Below is my tiered ballot. (NOTE: Names on this ballot may differ from my actual, IBWAA ballot)

Golden Tier:

Randy Johnson, John Smoltz, Pedro Martinez.

Silver Tier:

Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Edgar Martinez, Mark McGwire, Mike Mussina, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Larry Walker, Jeff Bagwell, Jeff Kent.

Bronze Tier:

Nomar Garciaparra, Gary Sheffield.

Which of these players do I leave off to fit in other players? Which do I value more highly or lowly on an actual ballot? Stay tuned.

One comment

  1. Pingback: 2017 Tiered Hall of Fame Ballot | Meet the Mets Fan

Leave a Reply

